13th Annual Arizona High School Fire Science Muster competition

Hang on for a minute...we're trying to find some more stories you might like.

Email This Story

When it comes to firefighting competition, it’s not a fair fight. Franklin Police and Fire High School swept the competition at the 13th Annual Arizona High School Fire Science Muster competition, Saturday, April 30th, at Westgate Entertainment Complex. There were 40 teams representing 12 schools, including Franklin’s three girls teams, four boy teams and two co-ed teams. Jose Soto, David Rocha, Erik Santillano, Miguel Montano, and Manuel Orona posted the fastest time of 1:53 to win the boys competition. Kearly Parra Ortiz, Denisse Alonzo, Alexis Almada, Roxana Garcia, and Yaslin Montano posted a time of 3:05 to bring the girls’ trophy back to Franklin for the fourth year in a row. Franklin teams also took 2nd and 3rd place in both the boys and girls’ competition to complete the sweep. The fire muster competition simulates the skills of donning turnouts (protective fire clothes and gear) putting on the Self-Contained Breathing Apparatus (SCBA), securing a water source from a fire hydrant, advancing a fire attack hose line, and performing a rescue drag. Richard Verduzco and Gabe Medrano are the Franklin Firefighting teachers and coaches.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email